IF Statement an urgent help needed

[COLOR=“#0000CD”]What do I missing in my “If” statement?

[COLOR=“#000000”]There are two forms, and 3 statuses; booked, available and pending.

If in the Form 1 given statuses are either Pending or Booked the Form 2 should displayed status “Booked”
If in Form 1 given status is “Declined” the Form 2 should displayed status “Available”.

My If statement is working by giving the correct combinations as explained above, BUT if I have in the Form1 two users applying for the same product (and its always only one particular product), only one user will ever get the status “Booked” and others “Declined”, so the Form 2 should display status “Booked” in this case.
But in my case it showing “BookedAvailable”.
I am an absolute beginner in PHP and playing up with syntax trying different combinations, but both my versions giving me the same results… here it is what I have:[/COLOR][/COLOR]

Version 1:
echo “<br><br> <br><b>Assignment Status: </b>”;
// Shows if the project is assigned to another user or not
$assignstatus = mysql_query(“SELECT app_status FROM stu_applications WHERE sid =”.intval($row[‘sid’])." ");
if (mysql_num_rows($assignstatus) > 0)
{
while ($astat = mysql_fetch_assoc($assignstatus)) {

if (($astat['app_status'] == 'Available') || ($astat['app_status'] == 'Declined'))
				{
					//while ($astat = mysql_fetch_assoc($assignstatus)){
						echo "Available";
					//}
				}
				else {
					echo "Booked";
				}

}
		}

Version 2:

echo "&lt;br&gt;&lt;br&gt; &lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;Assignment Status: &lt;/b&gt;";	
		// Shows if the project is assigned to another user or not
		$assignstatus = mysql_query("SELECT app_status FROM stu_applications WHERE sid =".intval($row['sid'])." ");
		if (mysql_num_rows($assignstatus) &gt; 0)
		{
			while ($astat = mysql_fetch_assoc($assignstatus)) {

if ($astat['app_status'] == 'Booked')
				{
					//while ($astat = mysql_fetch_assoc($assignstatus)){
						echo $astat['app_status'];
					//}
				}