I'm a newbie - Connecting up your graphics in your web-site

Hi eveyone

Can anyone advise me how to build up a web-site so that that it looks nice.

I know it might sound like a daft question. I’ve been using the Sitepoint “Build You Own Web Site The Right Way” book which shows me how to do a graphics header logo (which works fine). But I’ve also been viewing the Source on some random css websites and find that the nicer looking ones split the graphics up into blocks- some even place the .jpeg graphics into tables. On reading the book it implies that we should only be using tables for statistical type data which is what it tables were originally intended for.

So my questions are
i) Why do web-designers split their graphics up on a web-site where it looks like it would be possible to just to the same thing using one .jpeg file instead of about twenty or more .jpeg files if you see what I mean :confused:.
ii) Also is it better to place your graphics in a table or use css to move the div element to the correct place?:confused:

If anyone knows a web-site that might explain how it should be done then that would also be appreciated.

Thanks
David

That book uses the correct method and the TABLE elements is NOT for arranging sliced images. It depends by what you mean with sliced images; sometimes it can effect loading times if some of the images compress more than the others as individual images (or as one whole large image).

Though if the sliced image is just a background header then the odds are if they have double figure images then they have done something wrong with their design. However, if you mean for navigation bars/menu then usually it’s best to that CSS and background images are applied.

I can’t comment much on the use of split images as it is a bit hard to understand what exactly you are talking about. Maybe you could provide an example of a website so that we could see what you’re talking about.