I'm a Photoshop expert, do I really need to learn Illustrator?

Hi all,
I’ve been using Photoshop for over 15 years and am I guess what you would call an expert. However, I do have an embarrassing secret–I never took the time to learn Illustrator! There have been some days where I wish I knew how to use it, but I have been able to get by with Photoshop.

Honestly, should I take the time to learn Illustrator now or do you all think that Photoshop is really all that is needed? With Photoshop’s SMART OBJECT feature (Smart Objects preserve an image’s source content with all its original characteristics, enabling you to perform nondestructive editing to the layer), vector text and shapes, robust pen tool, and today’s high resolution computer monitors (now you can truly edit your stuff at 300-600dpi for scalability), is there any good reason to learn Illustrator?

I do, admit, that for logo design it seems Illustrator would be beneficial due to the brushs, but again, one can get by nicely with just Photoshop.

Thoughts??

You’ve been in the game a long time, my guess is that if you have been able to get by until now without learning Illustrator there’s probably not a burning need. There may be a desire to challenge yourself or explore but it doesn’t sound like there is a big NEED.

Having said that it is always nice to know where the strengths and weakness of any piece of software lie. Illustrator has its role just as Photoshop does. You probably already have many of the skills required to using Illustrator effectively because of your high use of Photoshop. I’d take the time to work through a couple of logo projects even if it is just for fun. Once you understand some of the possibilities you’ll know when it is best to switch out to Illustrator or whether you can pull off a job in Photoshop alone. There’s so much more overlap than there used to be that the waters are much more ‘muddy’ over this issue than there used to be.