I'm new to Web Development, requesting recommendations

I am new to coding. I am 31 and am now trying to break into coding. I have been in physical labor for the majority of my work history and am now unable to do anything I was previously qualified to do due to a work accident. So I am looking to get into the career I wanted to go into back in high school, web development. I have time to learn due to the fact that I still have at least two surgeries before I am capable to get back into the workforce, and I am hoping to just do some freelance work to make a bit of money here and there as opposed to working for a big corporation.
I know that my current goals are to learn HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and JQuery. As to where I will be going after that I am unsure. I am interested in learning front-end and then work my way toward full stack. I am not sure if I want to go PHP or Ruby yet.
Any recommendations (for study materials, or directional guidance) would be appreciated.

I would say, based on what I have seen from the UK, that going back to school would not be the best idea as what they often teach is out of date, with some schools here still teaching table website design.

Having said that I would recommend online courses, and also giving things a go, and do not worry about things going wrong. For the online courses I would have a look at Learnable, and specifically the Learn Web Development path at: https://learnable.com/paths/learn-web-development

When starting out I would look at the HTML and CSS first and them move onto JavaScript and move to JQuery if you want to.

2 Likes

Thanks for the recommendations, I will check them out.

I highly highly recommend:

1. Harvard OpenCourseWare Introduction to Computer Science
  2. Harvard OpenCourseWare Building Dynamic Websites
  3. Mozilla collection of learning resources (or this new version)
1 Like

Hey Jeff, how come you linked to an older copy of the Mozilla site? Is the current site not as good?