Image upload and resize: what is the best way?

Hi everyone,

Just looking for a few opinions here. Basically my situation is that I have a script that resizes a user-uploaded image to two different sizes - a medium size, and a thumbnail. The script does this using GD Library.

The problem I have with this script is that it has trouble with images that are large in file size, or with doing more than one image at once. The page offers no error - just (eventually) loads a blank white page. It’s extremely possibly that this happens because my script is inefficient, as I’m by no means a coding expert.

I want the user to be able to upload a number of images, of pretty much any file size, and have all the images resized. I’ve seen a lot of things in my recent searching that suggest using ImageMagick instead of GD Library for image manipulation. This isn’t really an option, as the host that this site is with do not offer ImageMagick. Changing hosts is would be a last resort, and I’d only really do it if there was overwhelming support in that direction.

The other things I am thinking of:

1. Perhaps my script can be improved to make it more efficient, or at least someone can let me know if this is most likely where things are going so wrong?
  2. Maybe I can use some other sort of library or script that someone else has written - if anyone has any suggestions about a good one that might fit my purposes? Preferably this would be free, or cheap.

Thanks for any opinions, I would be interested to hear what people think.

This is my code. The memory limit is something that I have previously tried to help this porblem, it has no effect whatsoever.

I did read something in my searching that suggested using the large original image to make the largest resized version, then using the resized file to make the thumbnail. I haven’t had a chance to implement it yet to see if it helps. It seems like it would, though I’m not sure it would fix the whole thing.