Imagecreatefromstring and mime types

Greetings,

I’m having problems with PHP’s getimagesize() function on remote images. Usually this used to work in a fraction of a second, but I noticed on some remote images it can take 200 seconds or more. I need to use this function to get the image size and the MIME type. Once I have the MIME type, I can run something like imagecreatefromjpeg on JPG files only, or imagecreatefrompng for PNG files only, etc…

I studied up and learned about using cURL and getting an image using: imagecreatefromstring() in order to download the files faster , but I still have questions about this function.

If I use CURL to download a GIF or PNG file, I understand that imagecreatefromstring turn it into GD’s internal image format… Does this mean the resulting image can be saved in any format (GIF to JPG, or PNG to JPG), without errors or corruption or quality problems?

Thanks
Kind regards

Yes, that’s right.

I tried this function on a PNG file which had a transparent background and saved it as JPG. The JPG file ended up with a black background. How do I fix this issue and other similar issues with GIF files?

Thanks
Kind regards

JPEG doesn’t support transparency.

Save to format which supports alpha-channel (transparency) - PNG or GIF.

That will depend on the responsiveness of the server that hosts the images, presumably.

So the speed of retrieving the remote image doesn’t depend on if I use cURL or getimagesize()?

Correct

Though using curl you have control over timeout and what not.

I have cURL set up in a “do while” loop with a timeout ( CURLOPT_TIMEOUT ) set at 20 seconds. So if the image doesn’t load in 20 seconds, the “do while” loop will repeat or retry to get the image.

Do you think 20 seconds is a good timeout amount? What should I do if the image is large and takes more than 20 seconds to load?