Integration

Hi, I am new with ecommerce platforms and there’s a lot of good info here but could someone tell me if every platform is designed to integrate its features in an exhistent website CMS? If I already have a website for my company, do I have to build a new one with the e-commerce platforma or can I integrate with some kind of plugin or API?
Feedback will be very apreciated.
Cheers
theo

There is no true universal CMS or Cart. Instead you find some that work with others out of the box, some that require more tweaking and many that have no integration at all.

Your best bet is to search for carts that are listed as partners or integrators with your CMS to insure a fit.

Magento is CMS integrated. Try to check it out.

Its hard to recommend a CMS without knowing what your site does, for instance Magento is a great eCommerce CMS but do you actually need eCommerce features at all?

Thank you guys for your insight. My website is PHP and I would like to integrate online shopping features. The idea is to maintain my CMS (tailor made) and integrate some API of Magento or other. I think that I have to move the entire site to the Magento CMS right? Do you know cart softwares that can be easily integrated?
cheers

Why not setting up a shopping cart as a subdomain of your current website?
e.g. store.my-domain-name.com

There are plenty of shopping cart platforms that would allow you to do this. Just customize the store to match your current website (colors, fonts, background images, etc). Then just have customers go back and forth between your current site and your store without even noticing.

Good luck,

-Daniel O.
eCommerce Developer
“Research is Key”

Hello Theo,

If you want to easily integrate a shopping cart and online store in to the existing webpages of your website, without having to change your website CMS or existing design, then you could look at hosted cart store add-in solution to integrate straight into your existing website CMS.