International business offer

Recently I got a JV offer from one of my clients. I am a consultant from India and my client resides in Canada and has an INC with some online website to get orders and business. The offer is about building a new site for the client that according to him will fetch more business using his new idea. However the client does not want to invest on any kind of consulting fee to me now or later but promises to give % share from profit earned from the new website once its up and running. He is ready to invest money on servers, hosting, marketing, customer support etc. but doesnot want to give a fixed consulting fee. He wants to have a long term relationship. I am bit confused about how to approach this opportunity. Should i accept this JV? If I accept this JV will I become his partner in his business and therefore partner in everything good and bad the company does (like debts). What legalities I should take care about should I agree with the offer.

Any guidance in this matter from you all is much appreciated.

There’s lots to think about here, not the least of which is your belief in their venture… investing a few grand does not mean a successful business will coming.

If you decide to move forward you will certainly have to go over the legal structuring. There’s no requirement that you become a full fledged partner, you may simply be entitled to a portion of profits for a fixed time or have some equity in the company.

Personally I avoid equity based projects unless I have a direct path in the outcome. When you’re building the backend and profiting off the front you run the risk of making nothing because the sales guy doesn’t put effort forward or the marketing guy isn’t that good, etc. Exceptions are of course when you enter into a joint venture and bring a specific skillset for an intended long term project.