Introduction to A/B testing

I have only recently come across the term of A/B testing.

From what I gathered it’s creating 2 instances of a webpage and testing which one outperforms, from this you’d endlessly improve your conversions. I am a little new to this so forgive any amateur style comments.

Taking a look at unbounce and Visual Website Optimizer which help you in this. Personally I dislike wysiwyg editors, they take the fun out of web design. Many of those sites had their own visual editors embedded which put me off the entire idea.

Another issue I struggle to understand is that A/B testing involves 2 variations of the site, would this not automatically hurt your S.E.O. factors, as you have a duplicate version of your website.

I am so new to this, some of the websites offering A/B testing are charging crazy figures! Maybe there is something I missed here, if anybody knows a little more on what this is and how this works it would really help us understand more.

[font=verdana]That’s pretty much it – you randomly switch between the two versions of the site for different visitors, and you track what happens … do people stay on the site, do they follow a smooth path to their goal or are they bouncing all over the place randomly, do they convert to a sale? Focus groups and user testing are all very well, but nothing beats real live people for seeing how well a particular design works in practice.