Is 50 too old to be a web designer

I was told by someone not in the business that 50 is too old to be in the web design business. It’s been a year since I had full time work. Be brutally honest, is this person right? I’m not getting any better or learning anything new… Is 50 too old? Is it a young man’s industry?

Nobody’s too old for this field or to learn new things. I started learning web design when I was 52, and now 5 years later, after getting tired of learning everything on my own, I am back at college full-time in an Internet Applications and Web Development Program learning everything from Interface Design to Javascript and mySQL to configuring Linux. Age has nothing to do with how successful you are or will be … but you still need to believe in yourself. (And no, it is not a ‘young man’s industry’ … I am a woman and after over 30 years in the high school math teaching profession, have embarked on a new and exciting career).

You’re not too old. 50 isn’t old by any means, except for teenagers and those who dread age and the process of aging.

At university, I had someone in my courses who was 76. He started from scratch and was, perhaps, some odd 10% less fast than the rest of us.

If your skill or expertise stands out in some shape or form, you should not have problems competing. If you’re average at what you do, then you’ll have to face a much larger competition, obviously, and age might become a factor in the decision process, to your advantage or disadvantage.

Go for it - I am sure that specific “someone” was a lot younger than yourself.

Times do change and I am sure that you have a vast amount of experience and not easily influenced by current hype. No doubt you have developed integrity and if you are unsure of your final creation then SitePoint Website Reviews are there to help.

“Illegitimis nil carborundum” springs to mind :slight_smile:

As long as you’re fairly current and deliver what clients want, I don’t see why not.