Is it me or them?

I’m by no means an expert on hosting – design and coding are my things. So forgive me if I ask a Hosting for Dummies question.

I’m working with a Host Not to Be Named to host my client’s pages. I’ve gone through other hosts and the process is dirt-simple: pay for the hosting, get the domain transferred, get the FTP login info, upload the pages via Filezilla, and Bob’s your uncle. Never used this host before, but I wanted more bandwidth etc than the hosts I’ve worked with in the past for this client.

This host won’t give me or the client the FTP login/password info. Instead, it says I either need to pay some monthly fee for cPanel access or install some incredibly complex Linux-based software to handle the issue.

I don’t need an explanation as to why cPanel access is a good thing. My question is simple: is it a necessary thing to merely upload files etc? If not, as it has never been with a number of other hosts before now, then why am I getting all this reluctance over the FTP login/pw info?

I have some sites at a hosting company with some pretty strange attitudes, but that’s a new one on me. :slight_smile: I’m not an expert on hosting either, but surely the hosting company will have to give you the password/log-in info, whether you’re going to upload via FTP or via SSH or whatever it is?

Short answer: I think it’s them. :slight_smile:

It sounds very peculiar.

I’d find another host if I were you.

What are your requirements?

Them! What’s the point of having a host without FTP access?

CPanel comes out of the box with most decent hosting providers. FTP Access comes with ALL hosting providers, unless it’s some kind of GeoCities like service.

Hope this helps.

Having no FTP access is ridiculous. If you can, switch.