Is it normal in web design not to have a job for a year long?

Hi

it has been a year since I graduated and do not have a job. Is this normal? Or at least is it a really big problem. I am thinking will employers now not hire me with the pretext of “what the hell did he do for a year”

to be honest I wanted a year off, just to do my thing, no real logic behind it, that is just what it is.

I have learned a lot this year and so forth.

So do you think it is a big problem, or will employers not care about that, and just treat the application based on usual criteria

Thanks

What are you doing to keep in touch with the industry while you aren’t working? Do you do any freelance work or manage a portfolio of your own sites?
You could build templates to further improve your skills as well as bring in a bit of money and show employers your designs are in demand.

I think employers would still treat your application like they do others, how capable are you, experience, personality fit, good communicator etc…

But you should expect the question of what you’ve done for a year and know how to answer it.
A year is a long time to have a complete break from web development, to me it could seem that it’s not really a hobby or keen interest for you.

But I have not had a brake from web development, I work everyday in learning new stuff and have managed to build up a portfolio with few websites (three that I like the most)

Basically I just have not had a payed job. Other than that I could easily say I worked 4 days a week on different web development and design work.

Is just I have had a brake from having a job (as in working for a client or a company)

I have been learning new things and improving on what I already know. I have managed to finish my personal site which is a blog and a portfolio <snip> - so I am saying that I have not had the conventional job.