Is it worth learning Java for me?

My passion is computers and I love to do all kinds of things from programming to web/graphic design.

I’m planning on doing some freelancing for web/graphic design and leaning more towards web and app development.

Do you guys think it’s worth learning a programming language like Java for me. Like, would it come in handy for a web developer? I know Android uses Java, but now apps can also be written in HTML 5. I actually know a bit of Java, but I’m slowly forgetting it as time passes by and me not using it for any practical use. I learn Java 1 so I have basic java knowledge up to basic data structures and some GUI. That’s about it. So you guys think I should continue learning java or focus completely on web design/development? Again, I do freelance work for a living currently.

You can use Java for web development, sure, but it’s not very common these days. I would recommend learning a general purpose language such as Ruby or Python—you can do all sorts of programming tasks with them and they are perfectly suited for web development. :slight_smile:

Personally I strongly prefer Ruby, and you can even use Ruby with Java using the JRuby implementation (which supports Ruby 1.9, the Ruby on Rails framework etc.) You’d be able to make use of your Java knowledge as well as the Java standard libraries and the JVM. And, I would stay away from PHP if I were you, as many professionals frown upon it.

I’m saying this as a Ruby developer that has read some Java and also used PHP for many years.

To answer your question; only you can decide what you want to focus on. You need to decide if the web is what you want to do, or if you want to venture into native mobile development etc. I personally chose the web.

Thanks, I’ve heard of good things about Python and Ruby before so I might go learn one of those. I was going to learn PHP since I see it widely used on the web, but after you said that, I’m thinking about changing my mind.