Is JQuery here to stay?

Hey guys,

I have been learning JQUERY for a few months now and I am putting an awful lot of time into it. What I want to know is, is JQUERY going to be here to stay and therefore worth mastering ?

Although I speak several other languages, I am having to concentrate heavily on remembering the order or all of the sqaure brackets, round brackets, colons and semicolons in its syntax. This becomes increasingly complex as you start chaining effects, especially those with callback functions. Does anyone else struggle with this and how did you overcome it? Any tips or methods?

thanks kindly

Will

jQuery should be around for a very long time.

As for learning it syntax, there is 2 main components. There is Javascript, and there is Selectors.

If you don’t already know, jQuery Selectors are based off CSS selectors. This is independent of your JavaScript skills.

With practice, you’ll master both.

There is also plenty of articles, tutorials, documentation, example source code and books about JavaScript and jQuery to help you along the way.

You know I see jQuery as a very good opportunity to build in some animation if needed, but nothing more. It is good, that it is around, but It should not be one of the main ingredients of your site.

Never a bad idea to master a certain language, though :slight_smile:

I can’t say jQuery will last for a long time, however I can say jQuery like features will be inherited w/ other popular Javascript Framework. For example, “ExtJS” is a great example. It basically, has all the functionality of jQuery and their own unique features as well. So, by using this I was able to quickly learn it’s syntax it’s fairly similar to jQuery.