Is there a way to force UTF8 in a 'mailto' statement

Hi there,
I am new in this “Web/HTML” and I was wondering if there is a way to force email client to go in UTF8 mode
through a ‘mailto’.
Please advice here.

Hi esn003. Welcome to SitePoint. :slight_smile:

Could you say a bit more about what you mean? What is the process you envisage happening?

Hi Ralph and thanks,
It is about encoding. Normaly, in my part of the world, email clients like Outlook,
have as default a specific encoding methode and I need to make it UTF8 in order
to see the fonts right.
Any idea? please help me if you can.

Sure, but I still don’t know what process you are describing. mailto: is just a way of configuring a link on a web page to open an email client and a new email addressed to the address following “mailto”. None of that has any influence on the encoding the email client is using. That’s not up to you at all. If you are sending an HTML email, you can of course encode it any way you like.

Are you asking how to force people who are sending emails to use utf-8? That has nothing to do with web design as such.

So I’m still not clear on what you are asking. Do you see why?

EDIT: O, I see you are talking about fonts. Are you asking about how to set up your own email client?

Ralph I think that if we’ll talk ‘code’-ish it will be easier.
Here is my code:

<!-- Javascript function for sending register request –>
<script language=“javascript”>
function subscription_request()
{
send_it = “mailto:xxx@xxx.net.il?subject=~הצטרפות לרשימת תפוצה~&body=‪שמך המלא בבקשה:%20”;
document.location = send_it;
}
</script>

Wow Ralph,
I just red your article “Tips on Character Encoding” on you Web Tips.
Now I know that you too have a long way behind you on UTF8 and
I might have some more questions to ask you, like how to force
the email client to go into ‘rtl’ in the same mailto.
It is very instructive reading your site.
Thanks again.