Is this a good college major for web development?

Hi. I would like to be a web developer. I’m in college working on an associates in graphic design with emphasis in web design. I considered getting a BS in computer science after I finish, but I am really not good at math. Since I am not good at math and don’t like it, I am going to finish an associates in web development after I finish my associates in graphic design. Then I will transfer to a college that will accept most of my design credits so I can get a BFA in graphic design just so I can say I have a bachelors.

I am interested in both graphic design and web development. After I complete the web development associates, I will have learned html, css, javascript, php, sql, xml, interface design, a little about java and some about developing mobile devices for android apps. Would this knowledge combined with my BFA in graphic design help me get a job as a web developer if I wanted? I know most companies separate the design and development departments and they are separate fields. It would probably be easier for me to get a job as a designer than a web developer because of my BFA I will have. Hypothetically, if I ever decided to apply for a developer position, would my lack of an IT or CS degree hinder my chances a lot? I will at least have an associates in web development on my resume by then and I may consider getting one or more graduate certificate(s) related to web development.

I do not think not getting a CS degree will completely hinder your ability to get a development job. It will keep you from getting jobs where CS is an absolute requirement (there are engineering type positions out there). If you are looking for a web development job and can demonstrate that you understand the technology and have some web development experience, then I think your design degree is just icing on the cake.

Thank you for replying to my question.