Is this typical of agencies or am I just at the wrong place?

Hello fellow Sitepointers,

I’m at a bit of a crossroads in my career and I need some advice on next steps. I’m a standards-based developer and I’ve been working as a front-end developer for the past 3 years at a company that calls itself an “agency”. This is the first “agency” I’ve ever worked at so I’m just wondering if the following practices are typical of agencies.

1. Contacting employees when they are on vacation/family emergencies/etc. during non-work hours (such as 3 AM) b/c they have a problem/question about a project that has a deadline to meet that day.

2. Outsourcing to crappy, mediocre developers. The code was such crap that our in-house team had to clean up a fair amount of it to make it presentable for the client.

3. Long work hours on practically a regular basis (ie. around 50hrs or more/wk, sometimes MUCH more depending on the employee).

4. Seeing coworkers working from home even when they are sick as a dog.

5. Another issue I have with this place is their hiring standards. I was given the impression when I was hired that they were moving towards web standards and that’s why they hired me. But almost every coder they’ve hired AFTER me barely knows current best practices, common CSS techniques (such as CSS sprites), etc. At this point I feel like they just tell me whatever the hell they think would appease me.

Sorry if this is all sounding like a rant, but I just want to know what others think and what I should do next (though I’ve probably already made up my mind at this point).

And just in case anyone else is starting to feel like they’re in a similar situation and come across this thread, I thought I’d share a couple of blog entries that have really hit close to home for me and helped me make my decision.

http://www.andyrutledge.com/platos-cave.php