JavaScript & DOM News Ticker

Ok so this is probably going to be my first ever proper JavaScript / DOM Scripted…Script hehe. Firstly I think it’s appropriate because of a few reasons. It’s a popular Web page enhancement when used properly / the good way, I’m currently doing a Website for a Football team and they want one on their Website and I’d like to think it’s something someone like me could do as a first-time scripter (i.e. A JavaScript beginner).

But that’s exactly it! I’m a JavaScript beginner and I don’t know what are good and bad user interface enhancements for a Web page. Hence of course why I’m here to ask the Masters of the Universe JavaScript for your professional help and guidance to set me on the right path from the beginning! :smiley:

Of course I won’t be using the marquee element / tag ever. I’ll show you my HTML markup I intend to use but first we should consider what was said in the thread - marquee tag. This particular thread is important to the replies in this thread because the Website I’m doing this for is a football club…That has a 5 year development plan…Which includes introducing a new team for disabled people. Don’t ask me how that works - The FA have commissioned it and are going round to football clubs to get feedback to see if there would be enough resources and disabled people that would be interested in playing football.

So that means that I need to design and develop a Website that is extra-accessible! All feedback, comments and opinions are seriously appreciated. Like I said, I’m a beginner in what you should use JavaScript for and I don’t have a clue on usability. I know the basic Web Accessibility stuff though and have read through some of WCAG 2.0.

The design of the news ticker is (so far) going to be pretty much identical to the one on the Microsoft Corporation Website. See how I put the word design in italics and bold. Not how it will be implemented. I’ll show you what my initial plan for the HTML markup would be below.