JavaScript Help

Hi I have some simple html that I would like to sort using JavaScript. I’m new to this so I apologise in advance for my inexperience.

<html>
<head>
A-Z List
</head>

<body>

<script type=“text/javascript”>
</script>

<ul class=“atozUl”>
<li>Copyright</li>
<li>Council - spending plans - consultation</li>
<li>Data protection</li>
<li>Digital Region</li>
<li>Freedom of information</li>
<li>Libraries - online information resources</li>
<li>Our Standards</li>
</ul>

</body>

</html>

I would like it output so that the first 3 bullet points in the list output on the left of the page, second three in the middle and the final two on the right hand side using JavaScript.

It sounds like you’re trying to lay out your page using JavaScript. Please research CSS, that’s what it’s for.

yes i need it working in JavaScript, got working in CSS already and it out puts it like.

1.bullet point 1 2. bullet point 2 3.bullet point 3
4.bullet point 4 5. bullet point 5 6.bullet point 6
7.bullet point 7 8. bullet point 8

however I want it to out put it

1.bullet point 1 4.bullet point 4 7.bullet point 7
2.bullet point 2 5.bullet point 5 8.bullet point 8
3.bullet point 3 6.bullet point 6

Create 3 columns and put your elements in there. No JavaScript necessary. Until most browsers implement text columns natively, this is your best bet. Besides, if JavaScript is disabled, most people will see the layout as you have it right now with CSS.

There are quite a few JavaScript solutions for columns, such as this one and [URL=“http://welcome.totheinter.net/columnizer-jquery-plugin/”]this one. You’ll find plenty more if you google columns with JavaScript.

any of you got any code? im a beginner and not too confident

Have a look at the code on the pages I posted. They give some instructions for usage, so try it out and then post back when you hit a snag.

hi, tried it out but can’t seam to get it to work