Javascript or jQuery?

Hi

I want to learn Javascript but I have seen that there is something called jQuery. Is it a replacement for javascript, meaning that I do not need to learn javascript and go immediatelly with jQuery? ‘sorry but i’m confused!.’

Personally im still learning javascript from the ground up as jQuery doesn’t always suit the basic needs of some scripts i may need to write. jQuery is always fun to use though for the very nice and well done animation :stuck_out_tongue:

jQuery is a library of code written in JavaScript that performs many common processes that you would otherwise need to code yourself.

To be able to use JQuery effectively you need to know a certain amount of JavaScript since all of JQuery is just JavaScript that someone else has written for you.

If you don’t have a reasonable knowledge of JavaScript before trying to use JQuery then you may end up like a lot of people where they have a dozen JQuery statements to do something that can be done in ordinary JavaScript in two or three statements.

Of course once you know JavaScript properly you can write your own scripts that are just as well produced that do just what you need them to do without the rest and end up saving perhaps 90-95% of the size of the JQuery script.

JQuery can’t replace JavaScript since it is all written in JavaScript.