Javascript problem in Firefox - disable right click

Please bear in mind I am a novice - EXTREME novice so I may be asking a very simple, stupid question. If so forgive me.

I have what I think is a simple script that I use on my website to disable the use of right click to copy images etc. It works in IE but not Firefox.
Here is the script

var message=“Thank you for visiting my site.

Copying text and images is disabled on this page to protect Copyright.

However if you want permission to use text or images please email me.

This Site Copyright ©2011.”;
function click(e) {
if (document.all) {
if (event.button==2||event.button==3) {
alert(message);
return false;
}
}
if (document.layers) {
if (e.which == 3) {
alert(message);
return false;
}
}
}
if (document.layers) {
document.captureEvents(Event.MOUSEDOWN);
}
document.onmousedown=click;

I have read somewhere that the document.all and document.layers do not work in Firefox. If this is the case how so I achieve this in Firefox.

That code is aimed at IE4 and Netscape 4 browsers - it doesn’t contain anything for more modern browsers that no longer use document.all and document.layers. It will work in some but not all of the more recent versions of IE but only if the browser security is set incorrectly.

About ten years ago the ability to disable anything in the browser from JavaScript was been removed and control given to the owner of the browser. If they want to disable parts of the scripts you add to your page then they can but you can’t disable any of the functionality of their browser without their permission.

This script will work unless disabled by user option.

It has the advantage of working only when images are right-clicked, otherwise allowing the context menu.

<script type='text/javascript'>

(function( imgStr  ) /** No right click ON IMAGES ONLY **/
 {
   function installHandler( obj, evt, func )
   {