Javascript with ruby on rails

Hello all!

I am new to Ruby on Rails and AJAX and I am curious as to the best way to achieve the following:

I have an index.html.erb file that lists some records.

In this page I have some checkbox buttons. When these buttons are checked or unchecked, a javascript array is updated.

var selected = [];

When my checkboxes are toggled a

filterchanged()

) javascript function is called that does the following ruby code to update the elements on the page (hides and shows elements without refreshing the page or using a controller

<% Post.recent(**selected = []**).each do |post| %>
       ... retrieve data from database and hide/show elements
    <% end %>

I understand that since javascript runs on the client and ruby on the server, I can’t pass a js variable to ruby but how can I achieve the intended result?

Thank you.

You probably just want to return the html for the posts and replace them in the page.

e.g. make an ajax request to:
/posts/index?categories=1,2,3

PostsController

def index
  posts = Post.where('categories in (?)', params[:categories]);
  respond_to do |format|
    format.js
    format.html
  end
end

/posts/index.js.erb

$('#posts').html('<%= j render('posts/index') %>');

Using the js responses sends back a snippet of javascript along with the html to update.

Thank you for pointing me to the right direction!! I now have better understanding on the use of the controller.

I was trying to do everything in Javascript and hide show markers on a map using filters in the page and using different ruby scoped finders in the view which is not very MVC.

I will try to implement your suggestions and update the thread.

Since I have many filters in addition to the checkboxes I will have to pass multiple parameters in my ajax call, check for their presence, and then return the html.

What I don’t understand very well is the javascript code. If I understand correctly