jQuery and content loading issues

Hi everyone,

I’m pretty new to jQuery and Ajax so bear with me that my understanding is quite primitive. I’m getting an idea of how they work but have some minor issues.

First, here is the URL to my problem pages that need addressing.

I saw this neat tutorial online that implements using jQuery and Ajax to create nice page transitions, where you simply reload content into a div element.

I studied that tutorial and started implementing their code to work with a few project pages I wanted to link together: cobico.html, offramp.html, tiesandscarves.html, and mgmt-artists.html. I reworked their function to work with my ‘#subheadAndNavigation li a’ elements (which controls the NEXT and PREVIOUS buttons on those pages). Here is the reworked version called next-screen-animate.js (you can ignore my comments I added to help me):

$(document).ready(function() {

/*  This 'hash' function gives users the ability to link to a particular URL.  
		By adding the hash, or #, the code changes the URL hash value to the value of the clicked link's 
		'href' attribute (minus the '.html' extension).  So when a user clicks on the 'next' link (href=cobico.html) 
		then the hash value will read '#cobico'.  */								  						   
	var hash = window.location.hash.substr(1);
	var href = $('#subheadAndNavigavtion*li*a').each(function(){
		var href = $(this).attr('href');
		if(hash==href.substr(0,href.length-5)){
			var toLoad = hash+'.html .content';
			$('.content').load(toLoad)
		}											
	});

/*  We want to target the links within the NEXT and PREVIOUS buttons and run a function when they are clicked  */
	$('#subheadAndNavigavtion li a').click(function(){

/*  We don't want to pull ALL the data, just the data within the 'content' div  */								  
		var toLoad = $(this).attr('href')+' .content';

/*  This hides the .content div at a fast rate, once that effect is finished then initiates the "loadContent" function using ajax  */