Jquery and regular expression to build new href

Hi,
I browsed all the afternoon trying to find a good solution, but with no luck.

This is the problem:
I have an old html website. I have to change every link built in this way:

<a href="javascript: OpenImage('/dir1/dir2/Image321.jpg',' Image description ');void(0);">

with a standard a href:

<a href="/dir1/dir2/Image321.jpg" title="Image description">

I think I have have to look for href beginning with “avascript:”

$("a[href^='javascript:']")

and change it using regular expression…

But after thousands test I can’t solve it…

Any idea?
thanks

Wouldn’t it be better to write a script in a scripting language (such as Ruby) which permanently changed the link structure in the files themselves?

This way you could run the script just once and not every time any of your pages is rendered.

Yea the script way would be best, or even just a find/replace throughout all your files. I’m not very good with regular expressions, but in case you can’t edit them that way, and assuming all hrefs use double quotes:

$('a').click(function(){
	var $this = $(this)
	var src = $this.attr('src')
	if(src.indexOf('javascript:') === 0){
		var parts = src.split("'")
		$this.attr(parts[1])
	}
})

This splits the strings along single quotes, so for your example the array would be structured like this:

javascript: OpenImage(
/dir1/dir2/Image321.jpg
 Image description 
);void(0);

Thanks any suggestion to a way to batch change every html file with that kind of substitution?
thanks

Good code editors such as Notepad++ or Atom let you perform a regular expression find/replace over multiple files.

Good point.
What kind of feedback do these give you about any potential find and replace operations?