jQuery code only works once - why?

I am a total jQuery noob, and this is my first serious attempt to do something with it. I have a form with 3 select boxes for day, month, and year. When the day box is changed, I want to show the day of the week in a division. The code I’ve written works the first time I execute it. But if I change the day a second time, I get an error.

Here’s my document.ready function:

$(document).ready(function() {
  // arrival day box is changed
   $('select#a_day').change(function () {
      alert('arrival day was changed to ' + $('.selday').val());
      var theyear = $('select#a_year').val();
      var themonth =  $('select#a_month').val();
      var theday =  $('select#a_day').val();
      alert(theday + '/' + themonth + '/' + theyear);
     dayofweek = weekday(theday,themonth,theyear);
      $('#dowtext').html(dayofweek);
      alert(dayofweek);
   });
});

(the alerts are just there for debugging)

and a couple of helper functions:

function calcweekday(adate) {
var dow = ['Sunday','Monday','Tuesday','Wednesday','Thursday','Friday','Saturday'];
aweekday = adate.getDay();
return dow[aweekday];
}

// onblur function:
function weekday(day,month,year)  {
adate = new Date(year,month-1,day);
if (adate)  {
weekday = calcweekday(adate);
return weekday;
}
}

The error I get is on this line:

dayofweek = weekday(theday,themonth,theyear);

and the error is a type mismatch on the line in red above. So it seems like those three variables aren’t valid any more after the first time. Help! Can anyone explain this to me?

The variables that were declared in $(document).ready() do not exist once the function has finished executing.