jQuery or Javascript form validation on change

Hello Guys!

I’m sitting here with a form - With a name field, email field and a message field, and I would really like to do some “real-time” validation, so if etc I write an email wrong (or right) - then when I change or focus another element it will validate the email field, and show an X if wrong, and a check mark if it’s right.

I’m not very good at javascript or jquery at all :frowning:

I’ve tried using this just for testing:

$("#email").change(function() {
	var emailstring = $("#email").val();

if(emailstring.contains('@','.') == 1) {
		return alert('problem');
	} else {
		return alert('no problem');
	}
});

Is there anyone that can help?

Best regards,
Lucas Rolff

Since you have jQuery already you could try the validation plugin: Plugins/Validation - jQuery JavaScript Library It handles most use cases for form validation as well as ways to add your own custom validation to the form. I find it a bit clunky and if you are new to javascript then it’s not really conducive to learning, but it could help you get something up and running fairly quickly.

Hey, I’ve been looking on both the jQuery Validation plugin, but also the JQuery Tools - What I can see in the [URL=“http://flowplayer.org/tools/validator/index.html”]documentation i can use “errorInputEvent” to set if I wanna use Keyup, Blur, null, change and so on… But how do I use it? and is it the right “property” to use for getting it to validate on blur etc?

Best regards,

I suggest that you get the validation working first with the default settings. Only after that should you look in to adjusting when it validates, if any change is considered to be needed from its default behaviour.

Hello, I got both the validation and validate on blur working, now I only need to be able to set a check-mark if the field is validated correct… This is my following code for activating the validation: