Jquery update select with myssql data on add

Hello all,
I’m fairly new to jQuery, but for the most part have been getting the hang of it. However, I’m stuck on something, and I just need some ideas on how to accomplish it. I have a select that is populated from a mysql database, and I have a text input that if your option isn’t listed, you can add it and it should add to the table that is populating the initial select. And I want to do it all without reloading the page, which is where jQuery comes in. Now, I’ve managed to have the text input add to the database without problems and echo back a “success” statement using ajax(). But I’m kind of lost on how to tell it to reload the data in the select.

The html/php:

<select name="author" id="author">
            	<option value="null" selected="selected">--Select Author--</option>
			<? $query="SELECT * FROM sp_author ORDER BY author_l DESC";
            $results=mysql_query($query);
            while($row=mysql_fetch_array($results, MYSQL_ASSOC)){
                extract($row);
			?>
            <option value="<?php echo ($author_id);?>"> <? echo($author_l);?> </option>
            <?php }	?>
        </select>

<div id="AuthorInput">
     <label>First Name</label>
     <input type="text" name="AuthorF" id="AuthorF" /></td>
     <label>Last Name</label>
     <input type="text" name="AuthorL" id="AuthorL" />
     <input type="submit" name="AuthorAdd" id="AuthorAdd" value="create new" />
</div>

The jQuery

$("#AuthorAdd").click(function(event){
		var AuthorF     = $('#AuthorF').attr('value');  
		var AuthorL     = $('#AuthorL').attr('value');
		var AuthorAdd    = "AuthorAdd";
		$.ajax({  
			type: "POST", 	 
			url: "ajaxInsertData.php",  
			data: "AuthorF="+ AuthorF +"& AuthorL="+ AuthorL+"& AuthorAdd="+ AuthorAdd,  
			success: function(){  
				$('#AuthorInput').append("Success!");
			},
			error: function(){  
				alert("bloody hell!");
			} 

});  
 		return false;

event.preventDefault();
	});