JS text scroller won't replay in IE8. Suggestions? [Solved]

I have a text scoller that works well with Mozilla and Chrome and will play once on IE, but when the image is clicked, it freezes instead of replaying. Adding

}
else {
return
}

creates a syntax error.

Where I work, sites like jsfiddle are blocked, so I can’t see any of your code.

What about error messages in the console or Dev Tools (F12)? Anything there?

:slight_smile:

Hi WolfShade,

I don’t see any errors but I’m relatively new to all of this (just started learning CSS some months ago) and am struggling to process it all while trying to build a new web site. I’ve linked to a test page here which has the basic html and produces the issue. The JS for this is more complex than what I’ve been able to get by with in the past and I’m easily lost, but trying.

Many thanks!

The error occurs in IE8 because now - then results in NaN, brought on due to then being an invalid date string. Why is it invalid?

The problem occurs where 250 is added to a new date. IE8 turns the date in to a string and then adds “250” to the end of that string representation, which results in an invalid date.

A way that works is to use setMilliseconds and getMilliseconds, with something like this:

new Date().setMilliseconds(new Date().getMilliseconds() + 250);

Or, you can make it easier to understand by using the following function:

function addMilliseconds(date, ms) {
    ms = Number(ms) || 0;
    return date.setMilliseconds(date.getMilliseconds() + ms);
}

then = addMilliseconds(new Date(), 250);

Hi Paul,

Do I add new Date().setMilliseconds(new Date().getMilliseconds() + 250); in place of then = new Date() + 250;? I tried that and it does work, but on clicking the image the text either jumps to the end or starts from the beginning intermittently.

I also added

ms = Number(ms) || 0;
return date.setMilliseconds(new Date().getMilliseconds() + ms);
}