July 2011 Member of the Month

Here we are at the halfway point of the year, where we congratulate our Member of the Month for July 2011. This month’s prestigious award goes to SgtLegend.

Please join me in congratulating him and thanking him for his on-going help and support on the forums.

And now, on with the questions.

We’ve known of you since you joined a year ago as SgtLegend, so would you like to introduce yourself to us and the meaning behind your avatar.

My name is Chris. I’m a 20 year old web developer from Melbourne, Australia. My primary role in a work place, wherever I may be, is front end HTML development, but on the odd occasion I can sneak in some PHP and MySQL. Before I was a web developer I was a BMX rider going to school and hanging out with friends from time to time. When I got my first taste of the internet it was with a cool 56kb modem running on a 1.2GH/z processor with Windows XP. Back then I had no idea what anti-virus, web development, IDEs, widgets or blogs even were until I met one friend who doesn’t realize it but actually started my career in web development.

Before I found SitePoint and all these web development forums I basically relied on self learning and visiting tutorial sites every now and then. During the last year or so I mixed up the way I went about doing everyday things like helping others, learning new techniques and just in general seeing what kind of person I could become. Since joining the forum, however, I have found that as long as you try to help someone and they get some sense of your reply, it’s a better feeling than not helping them at all. In doing this for the last year now, I’ve found that as a human I have the internal instinct even more now to just help others no matter whether it be on a train or on the sidewalk or in a forum.