Just how important is PR over content in SEO?

I’m a newbie to SEO and am wondering how important Google PR is against rich content? I am in the midst of a backlinking campaign which is a slow and tiresome process. How much importance does Google actually place on PR over content and domain relevance? Any tips for good backlink building greatly appreciated…

Content is definitely the first and foremost aim you should be focusing on. You won’t be able to get a high page ranked without having good content, it really is as simple as that. It’s the same for people who have keyword rich domains, they have amazing domains but the content lacks, Google see this and push them down in the rankings. Focus on the content and then get a good domain with low competitivity. In my experience i have found if you do something unique, you’re more likely to get ranked higher and have less need for useless backlinks.

Totally agree with Siick26 if you don’t have reach content mean you don’t have enough KP’s for your business. In such a case its so difficult to get PR

PageRank itself gets very little consideration these days – basically, once Google published any details of it, it became far too easy for people to manipulate, and so it increasingly showed sites that had spent time and effort on gaming the system rather than those that were genuinely popular and worthwhile. That isn’t to say that your link profile isn’t important, but it’s a much more subtle approach now than just looking at your PageRank. In a nutshell, any link that it’s easy for you to get through a link-building campaign is pretty much worthless, so it’s unlikely to be a good use of your time. Far better to concentrate on creating great content and a great all-round user experience, so that people want to keep coming back to your site, and sharing it and recommending it to others.