Keywords search over multiple tables

Hi folks, I have a normalized database which is based on a learning environment.
I would like to be able to search for a selection of keywords which are in a table called ‘C_Search’ and use them to pull up the course details which stored in ‘C_Info’. I have a basic search function but it is driving me crazy with how to get the keywords involved as I am new to all this and trying to learn as I go along…sometimes we need help :slight_smile:

The code I have so far is:

<?php

mysql_connect ("localhost", "jimbooth","test1")  or die (mysql_error());
mysql_select_db ("jimbooth_database");

$term = $_POST['term'];

$term = $_POST['term'];

$sql = mysql_query("select * from C_Info where C_Description like '%$term%'");

if (mysql_num_rows($sql) <= 0) {
// no results
echo 'Sorry, No results found.';
} else
while ($row = mysql_fetch_array($sql)){
    echo '<br/> Course Info: '.$row['C_Description'];
    echo '<br/> Duration: '.$row['C_Duration'];
    echo '<br/> Entry Requirements: '.$row['C_Entry_Req'];
    echo '<br/> Course Cost: '.$row['C_Cost'];
        echo '<br/> Course Progression: '.$row['C_Progression'];    
    echo '<br/><br/>';
    }
?>

Could anyone shed any light on this for me and point me in the right direction please

I would like to be able to search for a selection of keywords which are in a table called ‘C_Search’ and use them to pull up the course details which stored in ‘C_Info’.

So why are you not searching the table called C_Search?

Can you elaborate a little more, perhaps show us a real example, “I searched for …”

Posting the table schemas might help too.

+1 :tup:

Plus I’d like to point out that you need to sanitize your input and switch to mysqli or PDO.

Also why are you assigning $term twice?

$term = $_POST['term'];

$term = $_POST['term'];

Evening,
sorry for the delay but sadly I had to work. I have had a revision on the code which I will post underneath.