Kicking Off iPhone Development

Notice: This is a discussion thread for comments about the SitePoint article, Kicking Off iPhone Development.

Not going to convert me, but I must say that Xcode and the Simulator are a bit slicker than the dev tools for Android…but paying $99 to run code I wrote on a device I bought is a bridge too far.

iOS is currently at 4.1 along with XCode 3.2.4 which needs Snow Leopard to run (10.6.4+). This was released in Semptember but this article was written in November…?

I started learning to develop iPhone apps in July 2009 with my purchase of a Mac Mini. It was a steep learning curve for someone who did not know C, C++, or Obj-C. (It was NOT fun.)

The easiest and fastest way to get your app in iTunes is to use the basic code to run your app, but for pages, use HTML. My wallpaper app uses minimal Obj-C, just enough to start the app and present the first page, an HTML page. From that point, all the buttons and links are HTML, which is perfect for me, since I’m familiar with HTML/CSS. I don’t use JS in this app, so there is limited functionality. It just presents wallpaper of my company’s radio-control cars line.

If you already know JS, then you can use that to introduce increased functionality within an HTML environment. There are already several packages ready to use for developers who want to go this route, such as Webkit (endorsed by Apple).

The iPhone uses Safari, which supports HTML5, so you won’t be coding your pages to support multiple browsers.

With more work, those of you who design with databases will be able to incorporate one into your app, or even interact with a database on your company’s server. Some wallpaper apps need an Internet connection in order to populate the app with the thousands of wallpapers in their database. (My wallpaper is all in-app - no Internet connection required.)

I hope these comments shed more light on this article.