Learning CSS

Hi, I have managed to work out how to use HTML and CSS thanks to the Sitepoint book and made a website - http://www.ubereadoolische.com/.

However, how would I go about learning how to create something slightly more modern looking - like http://csszengarden.com/?cssfile=/208/208.css&page=0 for example?

I am a rather confused beginner as to how I go about extending my CSS knowledge.

Thanks
James

Hi James,

There are lots of ways to answer this, but my favored approach is to find sites you really like and study them closely. You can look in detail at the CSS they have used, the methods of placing images, the techniques of placing elements on the page etc. Most of what I have gleaned has come from doing this. I have a whole folder of sites bookmarked that I return to regularly for inspiration and instruction.

But there are also lots of good books that give formal guidance on issues like this too—which include issues of typography and so on. There are some SitePoint books that might provide a nice start, such as The Principles of Beautiful Web Design and [URL=“http://www.sitepoint.com/books/sexy1/”]Sexy Web Design.

Thanks - I’ve always found books a very good way for me to learn and as I am very much a beginner I think this would be the case.

Downloading the CSS code from a website would mean nothing to me, or very little anyway, as I am still very unsure as to what relates to what.

Are you aware of anywhere that has a preview of the books before I purchased one?

jamesthemonkeh, if you haven’t already, I suggest you use a browser development tool to examine websites you like and see how they work.

I use the Opera web browser and it has a terrific developer tool built-in called [URL=“http://www.opera.com/dragonfly/”]Dragonfly. Opera is a great web browser to begin with, but Dragonfly has been an invaluable learning tool for me.