Left Join Error

This is my first time doing a left join with a query. Previously it was all simple joins. That being the case, I think I have an issue with syntax but I can’t see to figure out exactly what it is. Here’s my query in PHP code:

$userQuery = mysql_query("
	SELECT
		Users.ID,
		Users.BusinessUnit,
		Users.DateAccessed,
		Users.EmailAddress,
		Users.FirstName,
		Users.LastName,
		Users.SuperAdmin,
		BusinessUnits.Name,
		Roles.Name
	FROM
		Users, Roles
	LEFT JOIN
		BusinessUnits
	ON
		Users.BusinessUnit=BusinessUnits.ID
	WHERE
		Users.Company='$_SESSION[SESS_COMPANY]'
	AND
		Users.Status='Active'
	AND
		Users.Role=Roles.ID
	ORDER BY
		FirstName ASC
	");

The error I’m getting is Unknown column ‘Users.BusinessUnit’ in ‘on clause’. However, the column Users.BusinessUnit truly does exist. I’ve triple checked my spelling and I’m even including that table in the FROM portion of the query. What am I doing wrong? Is it a simple syntax error?

Correct me if I’m wrong, but isn’t INNER JOIN faster than the comma notation?

When using an INNER JOIN MySQL directly maps all rows from one table to the matching rows in another table, while the comma first calculates the Cartesian product of the tables involved and only later removes unwanted results using the WHERE clause? Meaning with the comma you get larger intermediate results and have MySQL do more work than with an INNER JOIN?

EXPLAINs for the two queries are exactly the same.
I guess MySQL uses the same approach to parsing both queries, coming up with the same plan for both of them :slight_smile:

implicit joins can only ever be inner joins, yes?

so use JOIN syntax exclusively, and you’ll never have to worry about mixing them again