Letter from Law Firm Regarding Logo Displayed on my site - help!

I have been working as a freelance PPC Manager for the last 2 years and have recently set up my own PPC website.

Most of the work i have currently done has come from agencies - they have provided a lot of the clients i have worked for.

On my new PPC website i have listed the clients i have worked for under experience but have not explicitly stated they were clients of my company. Instead i have worded it as “our staff have experience working with the following clients”.

I did not get permission to use the logos on my site but i did not think it would cause a problem and i did indeed work on PPC campaigns for all the companies listed.

I have today received a letter from a big law firm asking me who gave me permission to use one of the logo’s on the website.

I do not know how to handle this situation.

Any advice is appreciated.

:frowning:

Just remove the logo from your website, and don’t think this issue again unless you hear back from the attorney.

OR

Get permission to use the logo , and send the name of the person who issued that permission to the attorney.

I am not sure that removing the logo and not contacting them will work as they are a big company - blue chip in fact.

I do actually do some work for them but it runs through another agency that passes the work to me - so technically the agency is my direct client, however as stated above it was worded as experience our staff have… rather than this is our client.

In any case i never had permission to use it but isn’t it considered fair usage to use a logo to demonstrate the companies i have worked with as examples?