Link open new window not working in Chrome browser

I’m a web designer in charge of a travel directory website.

I noticed links to external travel related sites stopped working on Chrome browser a couple of days ago.

When clicked the links trigger the ‘Pop Up Blocker’ in the browser address bar, previously the links worked as coded, opening in a new window

Other browsers, IE & Firefox are OK, also Safari browser appears to be ok

These outgoing links are constructed to open a new browser window using either of these formats

<a href=“<URL>” target=“_blank”><URL></a>

<a href=“<URL>” target=“_blank” rel=“nofollow”><URL></a>

This is currently only affecting 2 sites that I helped design: both are ‘paid listing’ directories, with each listing being manually reviewed prior to listing

These are the 2 most popular sites that I have designed / help design, with the most traffic & search results

Other sites that I have designed, which are not so popular are not affected?

Any help or ideas appreciated, Thanks

Sounds like it’s a problem with the Chrome pop-up blocker being too sensitive, but it could also be that the site is using unobtrusive Javascript to open the popup and that is what is triggering the block.

Either way, it’s a handy reminder of why you should NOT force links to open in new windows, without a very good reason. And no, “because it’s an external link” isn’t even a good reason, let alone a very good one.

Thanks for the reply to the post.

I’m not using JavaScript for this, I’m using fairly basic / standard html code that I’ve used on other sites that I’ve designed, that still works on the other sites.

Why would Chrome behave differently for 2 different sites, when using the exact same link code?

I have tried this format of html code, as suggested from: Google Chrome FAQ for web developers.

<a href=“http://www.google.com” rel=“noreferrer” target=“_blank”>Google</a>