Listing books you have read in your resume?

People usually list their college education under the ‘education’ section of their resume. I am currently in college, but I do a lot of reading on my own time, and I feel I learn/have learned a lot more from reading books on my own time then from the college courses. Plus the books I read on my own time are a lot more advanced and go into more detail then my college text books…

However this doesn’t really benefit me on paper, like a college degree does.

Does anyone have thoughts on how to make this benefit you on paper?

Thanks!!

You may have learned a lot from reading the books, but there is no “hard proof” of how much or well you’ve learned. But I think if you listed reading as a hobby/pastime and listed the titles there it would be OK.

Books you’ve read on a resume?

Ummm, not to be harsh but if I saw that as a hiring manager I would scoff to say the least.

Apply the items you’ve learned in the books, go beyond what people with your experience normally do by creating sites and a portfolio that matches your skills. Put that on your resume.

Definitely agree with tke here. Listing books you’ve read is about as useful on a resume as telling me you talked to people about whatever it is you do last week and it just doesn’t fit the resume format or concept.

That said having the names of a few books in your head is a great thing for the interview process. It’s very common for an interviewer to ask you how you are keeping up on trends or learning concepts in which case talking about a couple of projects as well as the shows you’ve been to and blogs or books you’ve read is perfectly acceptable.

One of the things I’ve been thinking about is adding a “book review” to my site. I’ve gone through so many, most good, some bad. I think you can tell allot about a person by what they read. Not something I would put on a resume though.

Thanks guys, I figured as much, why I said it doesn’t do anything for me on paper.