Looking for a book recommendation

Hi,

I’m a graphic designer trying to learn HTML and CSS. I’ve got lots of questions and am sure this forum will be very helpful. Here’s a question that’s been bugging me for a long time.

I really enjoy books and although I’ve read lots, I’ve never come across one that was specifically written to help make the transition from print design and production to web design and production.

As a print designer for many years, I already have a process and vocabulary. It would be nice to have a book that could take the things that print designers are familiar with and translate them to web design terms.

To be clear, I’m looking for a technical, how to kind of book, not design theory.

Does anyone know of a book like this?

Thanks,
Laura

Hi LauraFig. Welcome to SitePoint. :slight_smile:

As a print designer for many years, I already have a process and vocabulary. It would be nice to have a book that could take the things that print designers are familiar with and translate them to web design terms.

There’s a danger here, because print and web design are very different animals—more different than traditional print designers tend to assume. Trying to bring print design skills to the web is generally a disaster in my experience, because “print thinking” translates very poorly into web design. The web is much harder to control, is fluid and elastic, and print designers find it difficult to break out of the mold of thinking that everything is fixed to a certain height and width and pixel perfect.

So from that point of view, it might be better to approach web design from a completely new perspective, and find out what its needs really are, independent of anything you are familiar with. Then, and only then, bring back in any of the principles from print design that may still be useful, such as typography, white space and so on (you can tell I’m not a graphic designer :smiley: ).