Looking for a design site where I can code HTML and CSS

Hi,

I"m going to be building a website for a business. I’ve already signed up with ipage to host and will be doing it from scratch.

I’m looking for a site (or a program) where I can type in HTML, CSS, and/or Javascript and it will show me, in another screen, what my website will look like.

Any recommendations would be helpful, thanks.

I`m doing that with Dreaveawer, with dual monitor setup you can code in first screen and see the changes as you type in the second screen. Works great for me :slight_smile:

I’m guessing you mean Dreamweaver? I’ve never used it before. Can you download it for free like Acrobat?

Dreamweaver is probably your best option for creating HTML and it is not free. The full version is $300+. There are other home and educational versions for under $200 I believe.

There are a lot of other faster options for creating a website as I’m sure you know. Why are you looking to do everything from scratch? Are you trying tying to achieve a custom look or functionality?

I’m trying to build a portfolio so when I apply for job in the web design field (or if familiarity with HTML, CSS, etc is a plus), I can show what I’ve created.

If you have no idea how to get your webpage up to the internet at all, I suggest you to try learning and coding websites in HTML and CSS on you own computer for now. Are you familiar with HTML and CSS?

If you are interested in going that path, I suggest downloading sublime text Its an awesome text editor and its free to try!

Save your html files with the extension .html and css files with the extension .css. You can open HTML files and look at what you have created with HTML and CSS right in your computer. Try it out and let us know if you have problems.