Make top border 100% width in container

Hi there… im new in css, I want to make a custom layout for top border & menu 100% in width, but the other container is 980px in width…, how do i do that? here’s my code…

/* layout */
#container {
width: 980px;
margin-left: auto;
margin-right: auto;
text-align: left;
border-top: 10px solid #CCC;
border-bottom: 39px solid #CCC;
padding-bottom: 5px;
}

somebody help me :frowning:

Hi, arijay, welcome to the forums.

The code for the container doesn’t tell us anything about the rest of your design.

Why would you want a menu to have 100% width, yet the rest of the page to have a fixed width?

Can you give us a better idea of the picture that you have in mind? Perhaps a link to your site?

Welcome to Sitepoint arijay,

The answer is you can’t.
The width of your top border will be 100% of the width of the element + left and right padding (if applicable) and lenght of left and right border (if applicable).

So you will need to apply that style to a different element; one that 100% the width of the screen. You may have to alter your HTML to create such element.

hope that helps

Better to simply place it above the container in the html then it woul go 100%. But if you can’t you can try a couple things. If you AP the menu and don’t put position relative on the container it leave the container. Give it width 100% and it will be 100%. Or no AP you maybe give the inner margin{0 -999em;}; body{overflow-x:hidden;}. Without test I don’t know how that last one will behave.

The best way to set something like this up is to have a 100% width container and inside that your 980px content area, like this:

http://pageaffairs.com/code-archive/full-width-bands/floated-columns.html

hi guys, thanks for the response

if you guys want to have a look of my site

and the example of the site that i want to…

thanks…

Yep, my post above will show you what to do. :slight_smile: