Making a blog, question about categories

WARNING! PHP NOOB HERE.

So i have almost finished making a blog from scratch. I can login and logout from admin panel. And from the adminpanel I can add/edit/delete posts and categories.

I have tre mysql tables which are posts, users, categories.

My question is regarding echoing out the categories and posts.

On my right side of the blogpage i have the standard “latest posts” sidebar. The thing I don’t know how do do is how to echo out the posttitles under the correct category, right now i dont even echo out the categories only the titles like this:

function getTitles() {
	$query = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM posts ORDER BY `ID` DESC") or die(mysql_error());
	while($post = mysql_fetch_assoc($query)) {
		echo "<h3><a href=\\"singlePost.php?=" . $post['Title'] . "\\">" . $post['Title'] . "</a></h3>";
	}
}

WHat should i add to this to echo out the categories and get the correct titles under the correct category? I guess it has something to do with the Category_ID row i have in my post table?

2 things.

This query using select * when you only actually want the title is very wasteful, imagine you have a blog post with 10,000 chars :wink:

"SELECT * FROM posts ORDER BY `ID` DESC"

prefer:

"SELECT `Title` FROM posts ORDER BY `ID` DESC"

Second, you will have to do a table JOIN if you want to fetch all categories with their titles. [google]mysql table join example[/google]

Get the sql working, then come back if you cannot work out how to have PHP display them as:

Category 1

title 1
title 2
title 3

Category 2

… etc

Else, post the schemas for these two tables.

Thanks for the reply! I changed * to title in the query but now i get error:

( ! ) SCREAM: Error suppression ignored for
( ! ) Notice: Undefined index: ID in C:\\wamp\\www\\qssFINAL\\includes\\functions.php on line 14
Call Stack
#	Time	Memory	Function	Location
1	0.0006	671952	{main}( )	..\
ews.php:0
2	1.0102	704344	getTitles( )	..\
ews.php:8