Making a new programming language for education

I considered posting this in the ‘projects’ section, but I don’t think this is far enough along code-wise for that yet, and I need more input before I

There is a question here, so bear with me as I explain the situation (and get what I have done so far down as text for my own reference)

It’s an idea that kind of hit me while puttering in my garage that’s quickly turning into a museum… Was playing with Applesoft basic on a IIe platinum and Extended Color Basic on a Coco… and it hit me that I started using these types of languages when I was 9 or 10… sure, I was already doing 1802 machine language before that, but really this is where I started learning to do anything remotely close to a ‘real’ program…

… where are these today? Where is todays "sit a ten year old down with big colorful 40x25 (or less) text display, with a simple per-line editor, and a simple/easy language that any pre-teen that can read should be able to grasp? While I don’t think line numbered BASIC was ever the proper answer and was more imposed by the hardware limitations, I do think with some modernizations an interpreted language designed for children as a starting point BEFORE having to dive into real editors, complex file management, idiotic nonsense like ‘make’… setting up a server or parser… Just something they click “start it” and they can use it… (and no, visual studio is not the answer).

I started looking for languages that fit the bill – Even FreeBasic seems so obsessed with giving you modern compiler type controls and functionality it’s lost sight of being … a beginners language. For todays systems most of these languages barely provide the graphical and audio tools ROM BASIC back in the 8 bit days did! SURELY we can do better? I mean… what are we gonna do, sit a pre-teen down with Python? RUBY? I think not.