Managing Inventory for ecommerce

I’ve been running an ecommerce store for several months now, and the biggest issue has been inventory management. We have many products, being sold from our online store, eBay, and Amazon, and managing the overall inventory counts is tough. Right now I manually update all the numbers that come in from eBay and Amazon and use the actual store as the overall count (as orders from the store automatically deduct the count). This is tedious and inefficient.

What are the options for inventory management aside from this (where you’re selling from multiple online sources)?

I’m thinking a barcode scanner where we put a barcode on each product, and then just scan it in when it comes in, and scan it out when it is shipped. Anyone have experience with this? What is the cost? Barcode scanners are relatively cheap, but what about the program that actually manages this? Where do you recommend?

Any tips or advice would be much appreciated.
Thanks.

Although I don’t have a direct/specific suggestion as to software, have you done some general google searches for ‘Inventory Management Software’? Generally speaking, the way I go about solving a problem like this is to find some options, jot down the features/functionality you like of each, then do a comparison. You can also reach out directly to the software providers and drill them with questions specific to your business. I’m sure you’ll also get some good feedback here from the community too.

Best wishes!

Thanks for your time. Yes, I have searched that and lots of other stuff quite a lot, but am yet to find something easy to setup. I’m surprised that there is no simple, cheap solution. For ecommerce and managing inventory, I’m thinking barcodes are the easiest if I’m selling across multiple platforms.

Anyone with experience in this have tips? Thanks