Merging 2 (selected) TD in Pure Javascript

Hello all,

I’ve searched the internet but could not find a solution in pure JS for this.
I’d like to merge 2 or multiple (selected) TD’s but can’t get it done.

In HTML we use col- and row-span, but how can I do it in JS?

You can edit the colspan or rowspan attribute from JavaScript too.

var td = document.querySelector('td');
td.setAttribute('colspan', 2);

How do you intend for the cells to be selected?

Hello Paul.
Each TD contains a DIV. The user can select them and they will turn red.
Upon pressing a button the 2 selected DIV will be hidden and the underlying TDs should be merged

With that sort of control scheme, some desired layouts don’t seem to be technically possible. How do you plan to deal with such conflicts?

Meanwhile, I’ll put this merge identical table cells on the back-burner :slight_smile:

I am still learning and trying to see what is possible and what isn’t.
As for the code you gave in your previous code, it does not merge but “adds an column”.
Is there no way to “merge them” or should I delete one and use colspan for the other?

You need to extract the content from the one to be deleted first and add that into the end of the one you add the colspan to. Then they will be effectively merged.

Thats what I thought.
Thanks felgall!

This task looks very interesting.
I made a little attempt to implement it: http://jsfiddle.net/9ppgu386/1/
You can use that code as reference if you want

2 Likes

Nice work megazoid:)

Nice work indeed!

Thanks guys! There is a lot of room for improvements, though.

A slightly different approach using only one button instead of two:

document.getElementById('mergeBtn').onclick = merge;

function onCellClick(e){
var targ = (window.event) ? window.event.srcElement : e.target;
if (3===targ.nodeType) {
  targ = targ.parentNode;
}
    var isSelected = targ.className.indexOf('selected') >= 0;

if (!isSelected) targ.className =  'selected';