Minimum Smartphone Screen Width and best strategy

Hi guys,

I have recently opened the pandora’s box of responsive design and although I am a strong CSS developer, I have had to learn mobile/tablet development on the fly, just haven’t had the time to hit the books as much as I normally would due to vast workloads so I want to just describe what I am doing and to pick your brains.

So anyway I am going with mainly media query based designs and I have a choice of have 2 queries that I have been using for mobile lately,

@media only screen and (max-width: 767px) {

#tagline .row .eightcol {
width: 97%;
}

}

OR…

@media only screen and (min-width: 480px) and (max-width: 767px) {

#tagline .row .eightcol {
width: 97%;
}

}

Now I am wondering if the second one is even relevant because surely the smallest device I should really care about is something like a smaller screen smartphone, maybe something like 3" display. Anything smaller would be such an inferior device(like a tiny Nokia) that people wouldn’t want to browse the web much anyway, am I right or should I use the second query above and then have one below that again to target the really tiny devices?

I suppose its maybe how long is a piece of string and how much is someone paying you but atm I am just using the below 767px one and all Smartphones (that I have seen anyway) look fine.

Your advice is much appreciated. :wink:

I should also add that I am not taking into account portrait and landscape on mobile , the sites I am doing will work on either, they are not complex enough to worry so its not that I haven’t considered it, its just that I want a reliable media query for mobile and to do that I need to know what other developers do about REALLY small screens. :wink: