Mobile Navigation Dropdown

Hi Guys,

Currently, I’m working on a mobile navigation. here is what I have so far: http://jsfiddle.net/JeremyEnglert/9cK3X/2/

As you can see, the parent links are highlighted in blue while the child links are highlighted in grey.

I would like to make it so only the parent links show until a parent link is clicked - in which case the child elements will then show. However, I would like the child elements to show without the page having to reload.

I’m assuming I will have to use some jQuery to make this happen - which I have very little experience with.

Anyone want to get me pointed in the right direction?

Your menu is nice and simple, so making the menu work is simply a matter of hiding the child menus and showing them after a parent is clicked, we can then mark the parent as active and then the child menu will be shown.

You’ll just need a little bit of CSS:

#main-nav_responsive .sub-menu { /* Hide by default */
    display:none;
}

#main-nav_responsive .active > .sub-menu { /* Show when the parent <li> is marked active */
    display:block;
}

And a few lines of jQuery

$(document).ready(function() {

var $mainNav = $("#main-nav_responsive");

$mainNav.on("click touchend", ".menu > li > a", function(e) { //touchend is faster on mobile devices
        var $li = $(this).closest("li");

if ($li.find(".sub-menu").length > 0) { //only do toggling when an item with a submenu is tapped

e.preventDefault(); //prevent the URL from being followed if this is a parent item's link

$mainNav.find(".active").removeClass("active"); //if you want to allow all menus to be open, comment this line out

$li.toggleClass("active");

}

});

});

On a sidenote, if you’re building a mobile site/app it might be worth looking in to using ZeptoJS it’s a lightweight library that has a jQuery compatible API. (Unless you end up doing really complicated things or you need Internet Explorer support).