Mockup and creativity

Hello,
I am a mix of web designer and developer. But i have no “wow” skills for designing. I really would like to know how to be good at designing, colors and font, typography. I sometimes feel confused of what am i. designer or developer because i would like to get better at mockup, designing, color schemes, forms, layout. any adivces?

Good question nofel,

You aren’t alone. There are a lot of developers that are very talented when it comes to coding but they have virtually no design or usability instincts. While design is one of those things people kind of have an eye for (natural talent like writing or singing), you can learn basic concepts. I would suggest looking around at successful website and studying them. Practice with colors, shapes and designs of your own until you can make things look appealing.

Maybe you can find some tips here,

Hope that helps,

Shawn

Smanaher is right, there are those aspects that you can learn if you don’t have a natural ability at design.

Some really quick tidy-ups for a website are things like using a grid for layout. You’d be surprised how just having a simple grid suddenly makes things look tidier.

Like-wise with fonts, stick to only one or two and read an article or two on good webfont practice. If you don’t “get it” with typography then I would find a well used and respected website (eg smashing magazine) and copy their font-use. They often agonise over what fonts to use because they know they will be looked to and scrutinised.

Colour theory is pretty easy these days. If you are working with a logo or company colours already then use a tool like Colour Scheme Designer. Some people may see it as cheating but when it comes to colour theory it is way more complicated than people think, these tools help you stick to the well trod paths of colour relationships. When you start to get a feel for how things relate to each other then you start to get more adventurous.