Mod Rewrite that creates safe domain to process AJAX requests

Hi there,

I am using an SEO URL module built into one of the popular e-commerce CMS systems but sadly my Apache code is not working. Every time I make Ajax requests from pages with the URL modified, I am getting CORS(cross domain-related) errors which tells me that my rewrite code is doing something very wrong.

All I want to do is be able to make HTTP requests via Ajax to relative file-paths as in:

index.php/myfillepath/myfile

I want to do this regardless of whether the page that I am on is modified by the SEO url module.

By this I mean that I want it to work whether a page is mydomain.com/seokeyword or mydomain.com/index/php?route=common/category

So in short can someone provide me with a safe mod rewrite please, I am mainly a JQuery/Php/HTML/CSS developer. My Apache code is patchy at best so I won’t even post it here as I know it is to blame for all of my problems.

All I want to do is rewrite mydomain.com/index.php to be mydomain.com without confusing the browser into thinking I am calling cross domain when using AJAX.

I would really appreciate it thanks

best regards

Silversurfer5150

SS,

IMHO, you should be using the direct link to the data you want instead of relying on redirections. Moreover, you need to have Options +MultiViews (an ugly Apache feature) to serve the file in the directory position in a URI (and have it parse the remainder of the path :nono:).

Finally, if you want help with mod_rewrite code, you really need to show it. :frowning:

Regards,

DK

Hi there,

Thanks for your reply,
By direct link, I presume you mean absolute path (in my http request), I am using a relative one due to the fact that certain browsers throw errors with absolute paths when using JQeury AJAX.

The only code I had is here:

# SEO URL Settings
RewriteEngine On
RewriteBase /your_sub_directory_name/
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d