move_uploaded_file doesn't move files - problem with apache configuration in OpenSuse

Hi,

I’m new to PHP and am trying to figure out how to make move_uploaded_file to work.
To test and learn PHP I use public_html folder in my home dir, that is: /home/wojtek/public_html. I access it like this: localhost/~wojtek/[…]
The server root is /srv/www/htdocs.

Let me show the code. It comes from ‘Head First PHP’ book. Here you go: http://pastie.org/4809762

The problem is that an uploaded file doesn’t reach the temporary folder for uploaded files. I set it to ‘/srv/www/tmp’. Here is the output of ‘ls’ command:

drwxrwxrwx 2 root www  4096 Sep 26 17:33 tmp

I don’t even know where the temporary folder should go :frowning:

Apache belongs to ‘www’ group so I added myself to that group too.

require_once('appvars.php');

contains:

<?php
	// define application constants
	define('GW_UPLOADPATH', '/home/wojtek/public_html/headfirst/ch05/guitarwars/images/');
?>

And here is another problem.*:slight_smile: I don’t altogether know what path should I use – absolute or relative? I tried with:
http://localhost/~wojtek/[…]
• /~wojtek/[…]
• images/ (the script is in guitarwars/)

and none worked.

The script works. I get no errors. And I even get the temporary name of an uploaded file.

I tried somehow make $_SERVER[‘DOCUMENT_ROOT’] to work – to get the root of public_html but I always get /srv/www/htdocs.

So I’m completely confused. I don’t know:
• where should temporary folder be created (in /srv/www/[…] or in public_html?)
• why is the temporary folder always empty (no files even when there is no error when file is uploaded)
• what destination path of move_uploaded_file should I*use (absolute, relative (relative to what?))

I hope this is not a tricky question and you guys can help me. Thanks in advance!

You are asking a lot of questions, so people are less likely to take the trouble to reply.