Moving Drupal site from another server

Having undertaken some graphic design work for a UK-based charity they have asked me to help them with their website. Their existing site is built on Drupal (a platform that I have no experience with) and is hosted with the company that built the site. The relationship between the charity and the design company has broken down since the charities previous CEO left (as I understand it he and the lead designer are best friends).

Initially the charity want me to pick up the hosting of the website and make a few minor changes, with a complete overhaul and redesign of the site to follow in the next few months.

After a lot of hassle I have finally got the design company to upload the files to my hosting account. At the moment the Nameservers still point to their server as the charity are backing up emails, etc but these re due to change at the end of next week.

If I view the site at the Temp Web Address I can see content on the home page (with no CSS styling) but none of the links to other pages on the site work. I am primarily a designer who has limited developer skills and I work solely in Wordpress. The existing design/hosting company have been less than helpful and have not answered any of the questions I have posed to them.

With all this in mind I have a couple of questions:

1. Is there anyway for me to check the site works before the Nameservers are changed?
  2. Will the users existing login details continue to work after the Nameservers are changed?
  3. Is there anything I need to do to ensure the switch over is smooth?

Thanks in advance for any help on this matter.

Bazzablue,